Skip to content

Happy New Year!

January 1, 2009

This moving business is shaping up to be an interesting little adventure.

Unpacking and finding places for everything is really helping me to become familiar with my new abode, particularly because I’m moving into a smaller apartment and I’m still carting around a great chunk of my life in highly unorganized boxes. It’s really too bad I can’t install proper shelves, as that would be so much more efficient, but modular PVC shelving units are much better than nothing. Am I the only one with sticker shock from them, though? Forty dollars for a non-heavy-duty five-tier shelf? I had bought one just a few years ago and I could swear I paid closer to twenty-five.

I was lucky enough to get a bed loft frame from a friend of mine who was just getting rid of hers. If I weren’t afraid of heights, I’d consider sleeping on it. But even as it is, it provides one more flat surface for stowing things away. I’m also thinking about modifying it a bit by adding coat hooks and a hanging bar. Did I mention my new place is very small? The bedroom has a walk-in closet, but it’s the size of a postage stamp. I have just less than half the hanging space of my old closet.

One thing I mentioned last week has actually come to pass for me, but it’s all for the best. A few months ago, I saw this loveseat at the Salvation Army that really caught my eye. The price tag said $129.99 $109.99. At the time, I really had no place to put it because even though I’ve been looking to get rid of my old loveseat, there wasn’t enough floorspace to take out the old one and bring in the new one. What with the move, it was now possible to buy a new loveseat and put it directly in the new place. I was ecstatic to discover that not only was that same loveseat still sitting in the furniture room of that Salvation Army, but the price tag now said $129.99 $109.99 $79.99 $59.99. And as icing on the cake, furniture was on sale for 25% off. I paid $45 for an almost-new loveseat that I’m sure must have been worth $450 when it was brand-new in the store that originally sold it.

Whew! Happy New Year, everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

