Skip to content

Halloween: A Love Story

October 30, 2008

In the spirit of Halloween, I would like to share the following story of friends, vampires, and the good that does occasionally come to those who wait.

I’m not entirely sure when I started developing feelings for Dan. He’d been my best friend for most of the four years we’ve now known each other. We have so much in common: We’re both only children, we both like Highlander: The Series, and we both agree that our favorite holiday is Halloween. Maybe it has something to do with the fun and creativity that’s involved with the celebration, or maybe it has something to do with the fact that we both like to wear black and we both like The Sisters of Mercy. I’m inclined to say it’s a bit of each.

Dan and I met in late 2004. It didn’t take us long to start hanging out every chance we could get. Occasionally, I’d invite him over and we’d watch Highlander. Mostly, though, we’d just hang out and talk. Sometimes we’d get so wrapped up in talking, we wouldn’t notice that it was two o’clock in the morning.

image from britannica.com

image from britannica.com

By Halloween 2005 we were already co-ordinating our costumes. We went as vampires, of course.

The earliest I can recall thinking I liked Dan as more than just a friend was when he returned from out of town after the summer of 2006. He had been talking for a while about how he wanted to be a Catholic priest, and that summer was his attempt to get into seminary. I had spent the time getting used to him not being around, but when he returned that autumn, taking me utterly by surprise, I found myself feeling something quite a bit deeper than simply having missed him. I didn’t say anything to him, of course. I didn’t want to make things weird between us.

That October, he gave me an early birthday present: a pair of Scarecrow Dental Fit Fangs to match his own. We went as vampires. I joked that he had sired me.

In 2007, we started hanging out and doing things even more. People we met thought we were a couple. I talked with some friends of mine about how I was feeling, because by then I knew I was falling in love with him. Even when Dan changed his mind about becoming a priest, I still said nothing to him. He didn’t seem ready for anything beyond the friendship we shared, and I didn’t want to take any risks. About a week before Halloween, I got desperate enough to ask a friend to talk to him for me. Nothing came of it, but we did go to see The Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D. I had fun, even though it wasn’t the date I was hoping it could turn into.

image from halloween-online.com

image from halloween-online.com

To the movie, we went as Jack and Sally. To the party the day before, we went as vampires.

2008 started a bit differently. Dan started dropping subtle hints, but given his sense of humor, I assumed he was joking around. And then around February, the conversation turned to Interview with the Vampire and he bit my neck. And lingered. I wish I could remember the full dialogue that followed, but that day we officially became a couple. Around April, he gave me a promise ring.

We’re going on a date tonight, to see The Nightmare Before Christmas in 3D. We’re dressing as vampires.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jaelyn permalink
    November 5, 2008 10:36 am

    I just want to say that that is one of the sweetest things I’ve ever read. 🙂

  2. Ava permalink
    February 4, 2009 9:56 am

    Hey I know I haven’t talked with you in a while, but being that I knew both you and Dan when you met, I just had to comment. I am really very happy for both of you! The story you shared is very sweet and it brought a smile to my face:).
    Take care!
    Ava

Leave a Reply

