Skip to content

Sticking Around for a While

July 18, 2009
tags:

I mentioned last week how I was eagerly anticipating getting The Sims™ 3. Sadly, it’s starting to look as though my computer can’t run it. To offset my disappointment, I’ve been playing with The Sims™ 2 a lot more, exploring gameplay options I’ve been ignoring. It’s helping me see the game with new eyes, making it a bit fresher for me.

The Sims™ is an amazing empire. The second game has, so far, a total of eight expansion packs (University, Nightlife, Open for Business, Pets, Seasons, Bon Voyage, Free Time, and Apartment Life) and eight major stuff packs (Family Fun Stuff, Glamour Life Stuff, Celebration! Stuff, H&M® Fashion Stuff, Teen Style Stuff, Kitchen & Bath Interior Design Stuff, IKEA® Home Stuff, and Mansion & Garden Stuff). That’s a lot to install! All told, that takes up about 14.5 gigs, which seems like a lot. The Sims™ 3, on the other hand, is just the base game so far and needs about 5.5 gigs. We can all see the path that’s going to go down!

Generally, I’m the kind of player who just likes to explore all the stuff. Sometimes it seems as though I spend more time creating Sims and building houses than I do actually playing the game. I have one neighborhood (which I’ve called Area 5.1) that I’ve populated with a wide variety of genetics in the mad scientist hope of seeing what happens when everyone interbreeds. Can you imagine the bizarre result of a Sim with custom Cthulhu skin having a child with a Sim with custom skeleton skin? And I’m just cruel enough to want to find out what happens when a Plantsim becomes a Vampire. I’ve been known to create a full household just to kill everyone off so that the next family who moves in is haunted by their ghosts. Well, that and I wanted to see what the different deaths looked like.

Right now, I’m working on a brand-new family. Perhaps I’ll look up some gameplay challenges posted to various communities a while back, just to give myself some ideas. After all, I have no idea how long it will be until I’ll be able to play The Sims™ 3.

A skeleton Cthulhu clan? Won't somebody think of the children!

A skeleton Cthulhu clan? Won't somebody think of the children!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. St. Matthew permalink
    July 19, 2009 10:57 am

    I’ve just recently gotten back into Sims2 myself. Until I see something in Sims3 that blows my mind out of the water so much that I HAVE TO HAVE IT RIGHT NOW BEFORE I EXPLODE!!! I’m going to wait until the hype fades and prices slowfall back down to used copy levels.

    I’ve just recently gotten a copy of Nightlife at Half-price Books for $7. Lets see those vamps!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

